Our present Environmental Advisory Committee is as follows: Karen Bosker (Chair), John Stauffer, Wayne Hyde, Tom Laxdal (Emma Lake), Cindy Hanson (Anglin Lake). We are still trying to recruit representatives from McPhee Lake(2), Anglin Lake(1), Christopher lake (2).

We have 3 new members (at large) to introduce for Council’s approval. They are Terry Neefs, Keith Dahl & Daryl Jessop ( See biographies). On April 29th /17 these potential new members were discussed at our committee meeting. Our committee members were all in favor of having these men on our committee.

Wayne Hyde will contact Katherine Finn from (NRSBC) Northern River Saskatchewan Basin Council to see if she would be willing to do a presentation to our Council on The District Management Plan and Invasive Species.

Our educational inserts from our committee are done and Cindy Hanson will edit them. These will be printed and put in with our District mail outs. The 4 topics are: Environmentally Friendly Fertilizers, Zebra & Quagga Mussels- An Invasive Species, Dark Sky Lighting & ATVS. Cindy Hanson will have the inserts proof read and into the office by May 15th for a final edit (if necessary) before printing. The final printed inserts will be in the District office at the end of May.

Tom Laxdal has bought materials to secure the Invasive Monitors to the main docks at each lake. John Stauffer will have 8 signs made for the docks that say: “Do not touch the monitors” We will be picking a new project for the Fall to possibly work with a Polytechnic student. One of the ideas we discussed was a “Reforestation Project” but nothing has been firmly decided. Our next meeting will be in Council Chambers on Saturday, May 27th/17 (10 a.m. – 12 p.m.)

Respectfully submitted by Karen Bosker (Chair)